Top Ten Tuesdays – Authors I’d Like to Meet

 

The subtitle to this post should be Top ten authors I’d like to meet if I weren’t such a shy chicken. I’m always afraid that I’ll stand in front of my favorite author either tongue tied or else blithering on about something that makes me seem incredibly stupid. I actually sat at the same table as one of my favorite authors at Worldcon this year and not only did I say nothing I couldn’t even make eye contact. If I were capable of being a normal human being these are the authors I’d like to meet.

Neil Gaiman/Terry Pratchett in their younger days – I realize this means I have to invent a time machine. Gaiman has reached such godlike status that I daren’t approach him now and Terry Pratchett is with us no longer. I’d love to hear them chat with one another though and hopefully I’d have something witty to say.

Robert Crais  –  I love Elvis Cole but I particularly loved his Scott and Maggie books as will as Carol Starkey. My entire conversation with him would be trying to convince him to write two new books with those characters.

Grady Hendrix – The man wrote one of the cleverest horror novels ever – Horrostor. Go check it out.

JK Rowling as her alter ego Robert Galbraith  – I love her characters Cormoran Strike and Robin Endicott but I’d have to plead with her to never match them up. Let’s not ruin some great tension.

Leigh Bardugo – I suspect even if I were as cool as a cucumber I’d still make an idiot of myself what with the gushing and squealing.

Eloise James – She always has interesting blog posts and she comes across as one very smart lady.

Elizabeth Strout –  I loved Olive Kittredge so much not to mention My Name is Lucy Barton

Jerry Pinkney/David Wiesner – I kind of just want to sit in their studios and watch them create. I’d be quiet, I promise.

 

This entry was posted in top ten tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Top Ten Tuesdays – Authors I’d Like to Meet

  1. halliereadit says:

    I also love Elizabeth Strout and would love to hear her talk about her books!

    Here’s my list: https://bookloaner.wordpress.com/2018/10/01/top-ten-tuesday-authors-i-would-love-to-meet/

    Like

Leave a comment